Essay Thoughts.

So, I’m still currently reading through Jane Austin’s Emma. With the Essay closing in soon (31st of March) I’m kind of under the pump to get the book read so I can start the essay, If I did the math correctly from where I am up to (chapter 17) I need to read either 33 pages a day for the next 7 days or around 5 chapters a day, Luckily I was also able to get a very well narrated audio version of “Emma” so the 45 min – 1 hour (nearly 2 if it’s pouring down) car trip is not wasted time.

Sticking to the above schedule I should have a week to write the essay minimum to write the essay. Hopefully I can write it in 2-3 days, get it looked at by academic studies and polish it off, ideally I would like to have it done at least 2 days before its due (One thing I’ve learnt is giving myself time for any sort of issues that may arise) which would mean finishing the book by the 22nd, Write the essay the 23rd – 26th, Get feedback from Academic studies on the 20th and finally polish from 20th – 22nd.

While reading through chapters 12-16 we see a huge development within the story as Mr. Elton confesses that he has never fancied Harriet Smith and that he was only friendly with her to be close to Emma. It is shown that he is not the man Emma thought he was but is the complete opposite. During an inner monolog after Emma drops a drunk Mr. Elton off at home after a visit to the Mr and Mr’s Weston’s, Emma realizes that he is only looking to marry someone as high or higher in social status to enlarge his riches. Mr. Elton looks down on Harriet as a lesser and

I’m honestly not entirely sure what essay question out of the two I am going to choose at the moment, I’ve listed the questions below.

 

Question 1

A closer reading of Emma reveals that Jane Austen’s real interest is an exploration of the deep inner workings of the human heart. In fact, she tries to fathom the truth of her characters’ experience, trying to make them see how their outward life has been made up of so much that is fake. In this emphasis on the workings of the human heart Austen is like the Wordsworth of “Resolution and Independence”.

Do you agree with this point of view?

Focus your answer through a close analysis of the conversation between Harriet and Emma in Volume III, Chapter XI
Question 2

While Jane Austen on the surface seems to follow the pattern of the polite, social novel of the 18th Century with its interests in class hierarchies, at a deeper level Emma is revolutionary and Romantic in the way the relationship between Mr Knightley and Emma is presented as challenging the tastes and prejudices of her time. In the closing lines of the novel Mrs Elton says, “Very little white satin, very few lace veils; a most pitiful business!” 333 (Volume III, Chapter XIX).

What does Austen show the real relationship between Emma and Mr Knightley to be?

 

Q1 Thoughts:

“Jane Austen’s real interest is an exploration of the deep inner workings of the human heart. In fact, she tries to fathom the truth of her characters’ experience, trying to make them see how their outward life has been made up of so much that is fake. In this emphasis on the workings of the human heart Austen is like the Wordsworth of “Resolution and Independence”.”

First off, I don’t know if I agree with this point of view entirely. While I agree that Austen’s real interest is an exploration of the deep inner workings of the human heart, as seen through the constant efforts of Emma to match others while simultaneously denying she will be matched with someone. I don’t see how their outward life has been made up of so much that is fake. I’m not sure what is fake about Emma’s life, unless we are talking about how people’s perceptions of others can be fake, for example, Emma’s perception of Mr. Elton being at first a kind, well-mannered gentleman. Only to find out he was putting it on in attempts to charm her when he is a drunk, pompous and lack off a better word, Asshat who only wants to be with Emma to extend his own riches. But even if that is the case I haven’t seen other characters who have had that similar of an experience in which their true character is revealed to be so opposite of what was originally portrayed. In which case I would have to state I don’t believe in the statement in its entirety as I don’t believe the second half referring to her as the Wordsworth of “Resolution and Independence”.
In my opinion, I think that while Austen’s real interest is an exploration of the deep inner workings of the human heart. I think Austen is trying to not only explore the deep inner workings of the human heart but is also simultaneously trying to show that love, whether it be a family relationship or between two individuals on a romantic level is often selfish, extremely intricate/delicate and should not be trifled with from outside forces, e.g. Emma trying to play matchmaker. And that finally love should not be bound to notions of one’s public status but should be felt freely and for whoever the heart desires.

Q2 Thoughts:

This question I feel may be easier to answer at a base level, but harder to use external resources as the question boils down to “What does Austen show the real relationship between Emma and Mr. Knightley to be?”.
There are examples of Emma and Mr. Knightley’s relationship throughout the book as being one of if not the most honest relationship in the novel. Both characters never back down from challenging one another and aren’t afraid to tell the other exactly how they think.
Like I said, this one seems easier to answer at a base level, however, I’m for some reason leaning towards Q1 as it gives more freedom to think for myself and argues a point which I think is correct. Maybe it’s just the inner argue within me that likes the idea of refuting the given statement and trying to show evidence of my own statement.

At the end of all this I’m still not sure what one I will do, however, I’m obviously leaning to Q1, As for external sources though I am a tad stumped. Due to my stance on it maybe using studies on subjects like: The study to look at the neural difference between love and sexual desire (http://www.jsm.jsexmed.org/article/S1743-6095(15)33927-8/abstract) which within the studies conducted found “This psychology of love suggests that sexual desire is more than just a basic emotion, but involves goal-directed motivation and the recruitment of more advanced thoughts.” Showing that love is an extremely intricate emotion of the human mind.
For a second piece, I’m not entirely sure. I plan on having a browse through ACU’s peer-reviewed research papers using keywords such as love, psychology, social status, money, and happiness. I want to try to find another study that shows the complexities of the brain during love or possibly a correlation between happiness and money. By finding one of the last I could possibly tie it to love being complex as I might find that money has very little influence on love in which case would help make the argument of not meddling with others feelings of love (Emma getting Harriet to not marry Mr. Martin due to him being poor and low status).

I’ve got so much buzzing around my head in terms of how to link studies to my arguments as psychology is something that extremely fascinates me, Who knows, maybe after doing some teaching I may try to continue to study psychology.

Anyways, it’s like 1 am and I need to be up at 6 to get to my 8 am lecture, Night.

-AJ

Leave a Reply

